Contact & People

Department of Economics, Philosophy and Political Science 
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
University of British Columbia Okanagan
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Email: epp.okanagan@ubc.ca
Please direct all general inquires to the above email address.

Find a Program Advisor

Find our people

Role:
Disciplines:
Search Keyword:

Holger Andreas | Associate Professor | Philosophy | holger.andreas@ubc.ca | 250.807.8130 | SCI 211
Research Interests: Philosophy of science, formal epistemology, logic.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of science, logic, metaphysics, and epistemology.
Christina Behme | Sessional Lecturer | Philosophy | christina.behme@ubc.ca
Jacqueline (Jacqui) Brown | Senior Department Administrator | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | jacqui.brown@ubc.ca | ART 271
Kenneth Carlaw | Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | kenneth.carlaw@ubc.ca | 250.807.9264 | SCI 263
Research Interests: Evolutionary economics applied to historical technological change and sustainable long term economic growth; application in policy analysis of economic growth, development and sustainability as well in the development of measurement methodology; analysis of issues of socially just wealth distribution.
Courses & Teaching: Macroeconomics; strategic thinking; economic growth; productivity and technological change.
Andrea Craig | Assistant Professor | Economics | andrea.craig@ubc.ca | 250.807.9345 | ART 255

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Urban Economics, Applied Microeconomics
Courses & Teaching: Principles of Microeconomics, International Trade, Urban Economics
Catherine Craig | Assistant Professor | Economics, Philosophy, Political Science | Ce.craig@ubc.ca | 250.807.8443 | ART 239
Research Interests: History of Political Philosophy; Politics and Literature; Politics and Art; Politics and Myths; Classical Political Thought; Plato
Wei Dai | Assistant Professor | Economics | wei.dai@ubc.ca | 250.807.9340 | ART 233
Research Interests: Macroeconomics; Monetary Economics; Applied Econometrics; Time Series Analysis; Index Number Theory
Michael Donison | Lecturer | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | mdonison@mail.ubc.ca
B. Curtis Eaton | Adjunct Professor | Economics | eaton@ucalgary.ca | 250.872.9511
Research Interests: Applied microeconomic theory; evolutionary game theory; the economics of social interaction and well-being.
Manfred Elfstrom | Assistant Professor | Political Science | manfred.elfstrom@ubc.ca | 250.807.8675 | ART243
Research Interests: Chinese politics; social movements; labor; authoritarianism.
Courses & Teaching: Topics in Comparative Politics: China (POLI 314); Problems in International Relations: Social Movements (POLI 464I); Problems in International Relations: Chinese Foreign Relations (POLI 464H); Introduction to Comparative Politics (POLI 220); Global Studies Panorama (IGS 588).
Brad Epperly | Associate Professor | Political Science | brad.epperly@ubc.ca | 250.807.8810 | ART 229
Research Interests: Rule of law; law and politics; democracy and authoritarianism; postcommunist politics
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to Politics, Philosophy, and Economics (POLI 223); Contemporary European Politics (POLI 464)
Renaud-Philippe Garner | Assistant Professor | Philosophy | r_p.garner@ubc.ca
Research Interests: The intersection of political and moral philosophy; collective identity and loyalty, e.g. nationalism and patriotism; ethics of war and issues related to social learning and social trust among many others.
Giovanni B. Grandi | Associate Professor | Philosophy | giovanni.grandi@ubc.ca | 250.807.8605 | ART 230
Research Interests: Early modern philosophy, history of economic thought
Courses & Teaching: Early modern philosophy, logic and critical thinking, Austrian school of economics
Thomas Heilke | Professor | Political Science | thomas.heilke@ubc.ca | 250.807.8539 | ART 239
Research Interests: Political philosophy and theory; classical political thought; modern political thought; political theology; religion and politics; political ideologies; international relations in political philosophy.
Courses & Teaching: Political philosophy; history of political thought; religion and politics; international relations in political philosophy.
Maxime Heroux-Legault | Assistant Professor | Political Science | maxime.heroux-legault@ubc.ca | 250.807.9606 | ART 225
Research Interests: Canadian Politics, Research Methods, Election studies
Courses & Teaching: Canadian Politics, Research Methods, Election studies
Ross Hickey | Associate Professor | Economics, Faculty of Management | ross.hickey@ubc.ca | 250.807.8653
Research Interests: Public finance and political economy; fiscal policy (government expenditure and taxation) and how it is influenced by interactions within a hierarchy of governments (municipal, provincial and federal); elections; lobbying activity.
Courses & Teaching: Public finance; empirical economics; macroeconomics
Min Hu | Assistant Professor | Economics | min.hu@ubc.ca | 250.807.8381 | ART 334

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Health Economics, Applied Microeonomics, Labour Economics, Social Policy
Courses & Teaching: ECON204 Intermediate Microeconomics; ECON295 Managerial Economics; ECON360 Labour Economics and ECON363 Health Economics.
Jennifer Ingle | Lecturer | Philosophy | jennifer.ingle@ubc.ca | 250.807.9114
Research Interests: Plato, Feminism, Environmental Ethics, Virtue epistemology
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Computer Ethics, Feminism, Aesthetics
Andrew Irvine | Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Philosophy | andrew.irvine@ubc.ca | 250.807.9704 | ART 309
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to philosophy, logic, philosophy of law.
Khan Jahirul Islam, PhD | Lecturer | Economics | khan.islam@ubc.ca | 250.807.9591 | ART 231

Graduate student supervisor. By request at the approval of the Department and/or Dean’s Office.


Research Interests: Economic Development; Financial Inclusion; Economics of Household.
Courses & Teaching: Economic Development; Labour Economics, Data Analysis; Money and Banking; Financial Economics; Introduction to Mathematical Economics; Managerial Economics; Economics of the Environment; Intermediate Macroeconomics; Principles of Microeconomics
John Janmaat | Department Head, Professor | Economics | john.janmaat@ubc.ca | 250.807.8021 | ART 266

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Environmental and resource economics, with an emphasis on the role of environmental services.
Courses & Teaching: Primary: Knowledge mobilization and sustainability policy; Environmental economics; Natural resource economics. Occasionally: Cost benefit analysis; Experimental economics; Development economics.
James Johnson | Associate Professor | Economics | ja.johnson@ubc.ca | 250.807.9391 | ART 232
Research Interests: Labour economics and the economics of education.
Courses & Teaching: Empirical economics; methods of empirical research.
Adam Jones | Professor | Political Science | adam.jones@ubc.ca | 250.807.9624 | ART 257
Research Interests: Genocide and structural violence; crimes against humanity; gender and violence; gender and international political economy; research impacts human rights policymaking and social activism, gender and development policies, humanitarian intervention and peacebuilding, and international law.
Courses & Teaching: Genocide studies; human rights; gender and international relations; mass media.
Liana Knezevic | Department Administrative Assistant | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | liana.knezevic@ubc.ca | 250.807.9574 | ART 274
David Macdonald | Assistant Professor | Economics | david.macdonald@ubc.ca | 250.807.8595 | ART 275
Leslie Marsh | Honorary Research Associate | Economics, Philosophy, Political Science | leslie.marsh@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Philosophy of mind; philosophy of social science; social epistemology; political philosophy; political economy; philosophical literature.
Christopher Martin | Director, Centre for Mindful Engagement | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Education, Faculty of Management, Philosophy | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427 | EME3159

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; educational ethics; the aims of higher education; education for democracy
Courses & Teaching: Philosophical Inquiry in Education Controversial Issues in Education Conceptions of Teaching and Learning Policy and Education
Graham Moore | Lecturer | Philosophy | graham.moore@alumni.ubc.ca | ART 236
Research Interests: Philosophy of language, theories of truth and reference.
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to philosophy, Introduction to Logic and Critical Thinking, Metaphysics, Bioethics.
Noriko Ozawa | Associate Professor of Teaching, Associate Head | Economics | noriko.ozawa@ubc.ca | 250.807.9303 | ART 260
Research Interests: Industrial organization; applied microeconomics; applied game theory; understanding how firms determine their vertical boundaries and arrange their relationships with suppliers and customers; examines the organizational forms employed by Japanese firms by focusing on their effectiveness for coordinating various production activities.
Courses & Teaching: Consumer behaviour; firm and market structure; business strategy; game theory.
Kit Pasula | Associate Professor | Economics | kit.pasula@ubc.ca | 250.807.9370 | ART 238
Research Interests: Macroeconomics; international economics; monetary economics.
Courses & Teaching: ECON 340 - Financial Economics; ECON 356 - International Finance; ECON 402 - Applied Macroeconomic Analysis
Julien Picault | Professor | Economics | julien.picault@ubc.ca | 250.807.9227 | ART 253
Research Interests: Economic Education and Pedagogy, Labour Economics, Discrimination, and Industrial Organization.
Courses & Teaching: ECON 102 - Principles of Macroeconomics; ECON 351 - Women in the Economy; ECON 391Q - Economics and the Media
Madeleine Ransom | Assistant Professor | Philosophy | madeleine.ransom@ubc.ca | ART 338
Research Interests: Philosophy of Perception; Philosophy of Cognitive Science; Philosophy of Technology; Epistemology; Aesthetics.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of Technology
Pamela Robinson | Assistant Professor | Philosophy | pamela.robinson@ubc.ca | ART 241
Research Interests: Rationality; Ethics & Metaethics; Epistemology; AI Ethics & Safety.
James Rochlin | Professor | Political Science | james.rochlin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9388 | ART 256
Research Interests: Research Summary: Latin American security and political economy, Critical Security Studies, and Global Politics Theory.
Christopher Ruiz | Lecturer | Political Science | cruiz05@mail.ubc.ca | ART 277
Dan Ryder | Associate Professor | Philosophy | dan.ryder@ubc.ca | 250.807.9646 | ART 241
Research Interests: Philosophy of mind and cognitive science (esp. intentionality, mental representation & consciousness); theoretical neuroscience (esp. learning in cerebral cortex); metaphysics (esp. dispositions); philosophy of science.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of mind; philosophy of psychology; critical thinking; biomedical ethics.
Rallye Shen | Assistant Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | rallye.shen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8158 | ART 272
Research Interests: Urban economics, economic history
Courses & Teaching: Econometrics; Data and Statistics
Roger Shiner | Adjunct Professor | Philosophy | roger.shiner@ubc.ca | 250.470.0333
Research Interests: Philosophy of Law; criminal law, esp. as concerns corporations; freedom of expression, esp. as concerns corporations; 20th-century analytical philosophy of law
Courses & Teaching: Most recently taught Philosophy of Law, Business Ethics, Computer Ethics, Contemporary Moral Issues
Geoffrey Sigalet | Assistant Professor | Political Science | geoffrey.sigalet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8378 | ART 234
Research Interests: Canadian Charter Rights and Public Policy, Federalism, Constitutional Theory, Theories of Constitutional Interpretation, Judicial Politics, Comparative Constitutional Law, and Democratic Theory.
Courses & Teaching: Canadian Charter Politics, Federalism, Comparative Constitutional Law, Democratic Theory.
Phil Smolenski | Sessional Lecturer | Philosophy | phil.smolenski@ubc.ca
Manuela Ungureanu | Associate Professor | Philosophy | manuela.ungureanu@ubc.ca | 250.807.9375 | ART 236
Research Interests: Social epistemology, philosophy of language, translation studies, philosophy of social sciences.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of language, epistemology, philosophy of social sciences.
Wendy Wong | Professor | Political Science | w.wong@ubc.ca | Landmark 4, 6th Floor, Rm. 624, 1628 Dickson Avenue V1Y 9X1
Courses & Teaching: Human rights; global governance; international relations
Helen Yanacopulos | Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Political Science | helen.yanacopulos@ubc.ca | 250.807.8267 | Landmark 4, 6th floor, Rm 621, 1628 Dickson Avenue V1Y 9X1

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: International Development; collective action and strategy of transnational networks; civil society and NGOs; political communication; international norms; anti-slavery; conflict and development.
Courses & Teaching: Critical international development; international organisations; conflict; transnational networks; international norms.

For Graduate Student profiles, see the College of Graduate Studies website.