Contact & People

Department of Economics, Philosophy and Political ScienceĀ 
Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
University of British Columbia Okanagan
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Email: epp.okanagan@ubc.ca

Please direct all inquires to the Department Assistant first.

Our People

Role:
Disciplines:
Search Keyword:

Holger Andreas | Assistant Professor | Philosophy | holger.andreas@ubc.ca | 250.807.8130
Research Interests: Philosophy of science, formal epistemology, logic.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of science, logic, metaphysics, and epistemology.
Kenneth Carlaw | Professor | Economics | kenneth.carlaw@ubc.ca | 250.807.9264
Research Interests: Evolutionary economics applied to historical technological change and sustainable long term economic growth; application in policy analysis of economic growth, development and sustainability as well in the development of measurement methodology; analysis of issues of socially just wealth distribution.
Courses & Teaching: Macroeconomics; strategic thinking; economic growth; productivity and technological change.
Tiffany Clarke | Senior Department Assistant | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | tiffany.clarke@ubc.ca | 250.807.9124
David Ding | Emeritus Faculty | Political Science | david.ding@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Chinese politics; Northeast Asian politics; international relations.
Manfred Elfstrom | Assistant Professor | Political Science | manfred.elfstrom@ubc.ca | 250.807.8675

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Chinese politics; social movements; labor; authoritarianism.
Courses & Teaching: Topics in Comparative Politics: China (POLI 314); Problems in International Relations: Seminar (POLI 464); Introduction to Comparative Politics (POLI 220).
Giovanni Grandi | Associate Professor | Philosophy | giovanni.grandi@ubc.ca | 250.807.8605
Research Interests: Early modern philosophy.
Courses & Teaching: Early modern philosophy; logic and critical thinking; metaphysics.
Thomas Heilke | Professor | Political Science | thomas.heilke@ubc.ca | 250.807.8539
Research Interests: Political philosophy and theory; classical political thought; modern political thought; political theology; religion and politics; political ideologies; international relations in political philosophy.
Courses & Teaching: Political philosophy; history of political thought; religion and politics; international relations in political philosophy.
Maxime Heroux-Legault | Assistant Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | maxime.heroux-legault@ubc.ca | 250.807.9606
Research Interests: Canadian Politics, Research Methods, Election studies
Courses & Teaching: Canadian Politics, Research Methods, Election studies
Ross Hickey | Associate Professor | Economics | ross.hickey@ubc.ca | 250.807.8653
Research Interests: Public finance and political economy; fiscal policy (government expenditure and taxation) and how it is influenced by interactions within a hierarchy of governments (municipal, provincial and federal); elections; lobbying activity.
Courses & Teaching: Public finance; empirical economics; macroeconomics. Specifically: ECON 327 - Introduction to Empirical Methods; ECON 328 - Methods of Empirical Research; ECON 102 - Principals of Macroeconomics.
Carl Hodge | Professor | Political Science | carl.hodge@ubc.ca | 250.807.9321
Research Interests: European politics; American politics; international security.
Courses & Teaching: Comparative politics; American and European politics, imperialism; war.
Andrew Irvine | Professor | Philosophy | andrew.irvine@ubc.ca | 250.807.9704
Courses & Teaching: Introductions to philosophy, logic, philosophy of law.
Khan Jahirul Islam | Lecturer | Economics | khan.islam@ubc.ca | 250.807.9591
Research Interests: Economic development, poverty and inequality, financial inclusion, behavioural economics public policy, economics of conflict.
Courses & Teaching: Microeconomics, development economics, money and banking, managerial economics, labour economics, macroeconomics, econometrics.
John Janmaat | Associate Professor | Economics | john.janmaat@ubc.ca | 250.807.8021
Research Interests: Environmental and resource economics, particularly the economics of water resources; factors that determine water use in the Okanagan and other regions; policy options to encourage ways of using water - and other resources - to more effectively serve the needs and wants of local communities and society at large.
Courses & Teaching: Environmental and natural resource economics; experimental economics; development economics; cost-benefit analysis.
Mohsen Javdani | Associate Professor | Economics | mohsen.javdani@ubc.ca | 250.807.9152
Research Interests: Labour economics, applied econometrics, economics of education, economics of immigrants and minorities, economics of gender, personnel economics.
Courses & Teaching: Labour economics, econometrics, microeconomics, game theory.
James Johnson | Associate Professor | Economics | ja.johnson@ubc.ca | 250.807.9391
Research Interests: Labour economics and the economics of education.
Courses & Teaching: Empirical economics; methods of empirical research.
Adam Jones | Professor | Political Science | adam.jones@ubc.ca | 250.807.9624
Research Interests: Genocide and structural violence; crimes against humanity; gender and violence; gender and international political economy; research impacts human rights policymaking and social activism, gender and development policies, humanitarian intervention and peacebuilding, and international law.
Courses & Teaching: Genocide studies; human rights; gender and international relations; mass media.
Christopher Martin | Associate Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Education, Management, Philosophy | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; Educational policy; Moral education; Moral and political philosophy; Critical theory; the humanities in medical education; Ethics education.
Courses & Teaching: (Undergraduate) The Culture of the School: The School as an Ethical Environment ; (Graduate) Readings and Discourse in Education; Mindfulness as an Aim of Education; Leadership for Inclusion and Social Justice: What is Educational Justice?
Barrie McCullough | Emeritus Faculty | Political Science | barrie.mccullough@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Political ideologies; problems in international law; Canadian constitutional law.
Courses & Teaching: Political philosophy; Canadian constitutional law; international law.
Noriko Ozawa | Senior Instructor | Economics | noriko.ozawa@ubc.ca | 250.807.9303
Research Interests: Industrial organization; applied microeconomics; applied game theory; understanding how firms determine their vertical boundaries and arrange their relationships with suppliers and customers; examines the organizational forms employed by Japanese firms by focusing on their effectiveness for coordinating various production activities.
Courses & Teaching: Consumer behaviour; firm and market structure; business strategy; game theory.
Kit Pasula | Associate Professor | Economics | kit.pasula@ubc.ca | 250.807.9370
Research Interests: Macroeconomics; international economics; monetary economics.
Courses & Teaching: ECON 340 - Financial Economics; ECON 356 - International Finance; ECON 402 - Applied Macroeconomic Analysis
Natalia Penuela Gallo | MA Student | Political Science | natalia.penuelagallo@alumni.ubc.ca
Research Interests: Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies (IGS): Political science, civil society participation, critical security, development, race and class, human rights, transitional politics, peace building, Colombia and Latin America.
Julien Picault | Senior Instructor | Economics | julien.picault@ubc.ca | 250.807.9227
Research Interests: Labor economics, discrimination, industrial organization, applied microeconomics, economics of education.
Courses & Teaching: ECON 102 - Principles of Macroeconomics; ECON 351 - Women in the Economy; ECON 391Q - Economics and the Media
Karl Pinno | Lecturer | Economics | karl.pinno@ubc.ca | 250.807.9885
Research Interests: Energy, macroeconomics, finance. Money and banking.
Courses & Teaching: Macroeconomics, energy, econometrics, energy econometrics, international finance, trade, money and banking, and history of economic thought.
Jim Robinson | Associate Professor | Philosophy | jim.robinson@ubc.ca | 250.807.9410
Research Interests: Virtue Ethics and Applied Ethics. My articles, mainly concerning Plato, appear in Phronesis, Journal of Philosophical Research, Teaching Philosophy, and Journal of Military Ethics.
Courses & Teaching: PHIL 111: Introduction to Philosophy; PHIL 230: Ethics; PHIL 309: Ancient Greek Philosophy and PHIL 435: Environmental Ethics
James Rochlin | Professor | Political Science | james.rochlin@ubc.ca | 250.807.9388
Research Interests: Latin American politics, global security studies, global politics theory, and global political economy.
Dan Ryder | Associate Professor | Philosophy | dan.ryder@ubc.ca | 250.807.9646
Research Interests: Philosophy of mind and cognitive science (esp. intentionality, mental representation & consciousness); theoretical neuroscience (esp. learning in cerebral cortex); metaphysics (esp. dispositions); philosophy of science.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of mind; philosophy of psychology; critical thinking; biomedical ethics.
Halina Sapeha | Assistant Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science | halina.sapeha@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Public policy; globalization; social network analysis; international migration
Courses & Teaching: International politics; constitutional law; international law
Darielle Talarico | PhD Student | Political Science | darielle.talarico@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies (IGS): Democratic theory, deliberative democracy theory, epistemic and ontological transformation, digital serious games, experiments, group polarization, confirmation bias.
Manuela Ungureanu | Associate Professor | Philosophy | manuela.ungureanu@ubc.ca | 250.807.9375
Research Interests: Epistemology (theory of knowledge), philosophy of language, philosophy of social sciences.
Courses & Teaching: Philosophy of mind and language, epistemology, philosophy of social sciences, literacy studies. Selected Courses - Theory of Knowledge; Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Language; Topics in Contemporary Philosophy; Freedom of Expression/Freedom of Speech; Philosophy of Psychology; Humanism, Rationality and Relativism; bIntroduction to Critical Thinking; Introduction to Philosophy
Shelley Vanderburg | Administrative Assistant | Community, Culture and Global Studies | shelley.vanderburg@ubc.ca | 250.807.8298
Piotr Wrzesniewski | Emeritus Faculty | Philosophy | piotr.wrzesniewski@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Philosophy of science and philosophy of information; analysis, development, and modification of theoretical concepts.
Peter Wylie | Associate Professor | Economics | peter.wylie@ubc.ca | 250.807.9341
Research Interests: Economic history; international economics; public policy; regional innovation; economic competitiveness; public infrastructure and economic growth; manufacturing employment effects of NAFTA; regional innovation systems; policies for sustainable regional economic development.
Courses & Teaching: Economic history; international economics; economic growth.
Helen Yanacopulos | Political Science | helen.yanacopulos@ubc.ca | 250.807.8267
Research Interests: International Development; collective action and strategy of transnational networks; civil society and NGOs; political communication; international norms; anti-slavery; conflict and development.
Courses & Teaching: Critical international development; international organisations; conflict; transnational networks; international norms.